AGG Software
Ask a question  Top  Previous  Next

Workspace

Before exiting the program, you can save the configuration of your workspace during the current session of working with the program. It allows you to easily save your settings between sessions. You can create, delete and save workspaces manually.

 

Advanced USB Port Monitor has three types of workspaces:

 

Default workspace - this workspace is loaded after you start the program for the first time and if you have not loaded any custom workspaces. This workspace type saves only information about the position of the main window and the position of interface elements in the main window of the program.

 

Custom workspaces in internal storage - these are workspaces you created and saved under some names. A workspace created once stores all the settings of the program, including the position of all child windows and their parameters active at the moment of creating or saving the workspace. When you load a workspace, all default workspace parameters are overridden. Workspaces of this type are stored in the Workspaces subfolder of the program folder.

 

Custom workspaces in file - it is the same as Custom workspaces in internal storage, except that data about such a workspace is stored in a separate file on your disk and it is not displayed in the dialog box when you use the File | Open a workspace command.

 

Creating, loading and saving a workspace

 

Use the following command line parameters and menu items to manage workspaces:

 

If the name of a workspace file (with the auw extension) is specified in the command line, the specified workspace will be loaded when the program is started.

 

File | Open a workspace - the command opens the dialog box (fig.1) with the list of workspaces. This dialog box shows only workspaces stored in the internal storage and does not include workspaces saved to files with the File | Save the workspace to a file command.

 

usb-workspace-dialog

Fig.1 Workspaces dialog box

 

To load a workspace, you should select it from the list and click the OK button. After that the selected workspace will be loaded. You may see warning messages during the process of loading the workspace if the workspace contains child window for a device that is not connected. Such a window will be created, but its functionality will be limited until you connect the corresponding device.

 

File | Save the workspace - the command becomes available only if some workspace is loaded and allows you to save all changes made in the workspace after it has been loaded.

 

File | Save the workspace as - the command allows you to save the workspace under a new name. When you select this command, you will see a dialog box offering you to enter the name of the workspace (fig.2). After you click the OK button in this dialog box, the workspace name will be checked for invalid characters (you cannot use invalid characters in file names) and the workspace will be saved to the internal storage with the specified name.

 

usb-workspace-name-dialog

Fig.2 Dialog box for entering the workspace name

 

File | Delete workspaces - the command opens the dialog box (fig.1) with the list of workspaces that you can delete. Unlike in the dialog box of the File | Open a workspace command, you can select several workspaces that should be deleted.

 

 

warning

 

 

Note: Deleted workspaces cannot be restored.

 

File | Open a workspace from a file - the command opens the dialog box where you can select any file with a workspace on the disk. It is the same as the File | Open a workspace command, except that you will see the Windows standard Open File dialog box.

 

File | Save the workspace to a file - the command opens the dialog box where you can specify the path and the name of the file to save the workspace to on the disk.

 

File | Open the last workspace on startup - this option specifies that next time the program is started, the last active workspace should be loaded. If no workspace has been used yet, the option is ignored when the program is started. If you specify the name of a workspace file as a command line parameter, this option is ignored.

 

 

warning

 

 

Note: Custom workspaces are not saved automatically. You should use the corresponding command from the File menu.

 

 

Workspace contents

 

Workspace information is used aggregately: The default workspace is loaded first and then the parameters of the custom workspace complement or override it. Each custom workspace stores the following information about the last session:

 

Data about the position of the main program window;
Data about the positions and sizes of moveable interface elements in the main window of the program (menu, taskbar, etc.)
For each child window:
1.The identifiers of the device it was opened for;
2.The title of the open window;
3.Data about the position and the size of the window.

 

Additionally for each type of child windows

 

Monitor windows:

 

1.Filter parameters;
2.Binary log file name;
3.Current data view;
4.The status of the "Save data to a binary log file" button.

 

Performance monitor windows:
1.Performance graph scale;
2.The status of the "Write statistics to file" checkbox;
3.The status of the "Overwrite file" checkbox;
4.Statistics file name;
5.Performance test type;
6.The name of the file used for testing performance.

 

Information windows:
1.Report contents

 



Ask a question about this topic


If you found an inconsistency in the above topic or you want to ask for support,
Please specify your question here:
Your e-mail address here:
and your name here:
Please ask only Advanced USB Port Monitor related questions.

Copyright © 1999-2006, AGG Software.
All rights reserved.